Vaquero Ceviche

A couple of hours northwest of Mexico City is the small

village of Comonfort. This little pueblo was known in

the nineties for two things, a large community

of stone carvers who sold their work by the side of the

road, and a steak house that drew foodies from all over

the country. I encountered what they labeled “piccadillo”

there but it was nothing like any piccadillo recipe I have

found before or since. First, their beef was never

cooked – it might be considered the Latin equivalent of

Steak Tartare, but it is closer to a cowboy ceviche in

that it actually cooks in lime juice. I had downed a

sizable portion before I discovered to my alarm that

I was eating “raw meat” in Mexico but by that time I

didn’t really care.  Needless to say I not only survived

but became a convert.  When you make it, buy the

freshest beef and grind it yourself!

1 pound of freshly-ground lean, round steak

1 cup of fresh lime juice

1 cup of tomatoes, chopped

¼ cup of yellow onions, minced

1 tablespoon of garlic, minced

2 small chipotle peppers, powdered

1 jalapeno pepper, minced

¼ cup of cilantro leaves, chopped

1 teaspoon of cumin

Sea salt

Freshly ground black pepper

Combine the meat and lime juice in a shallow glass

or stoneware serving dish. Stir well and refrigerate

overnight. Add the additional ingredients and return

to the refrigerator for an hour or so to let the flavors

merge. Serve as an appetizer with crispy fried corn

tortillas or chips.

